You are here

Latest News Releases

  • 01/27/2015

    West Des Moines Valley defeated Bettendorf 72-32 in the championship match to win the 25th Ames Laboratory/Iowa State University Regional High School Science Bowl. Valley will advance to represent the region at the National Science Bowl®, to be held April 30-May 4 in Washington, D.C. The U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science manages the National Science Bowl®, and sponsors the finals competition.

  • 01/27/2015

    Paul Canfield, Ames Laboratory senior physicist and Iowa State University Distinguished Professor and the Robert Allen Wright Professor of Physics and Astronomy, has been selected to receive a Humboldt Research Award in recognition of his achievements to date – fundamental discoveries, new theories, insights that have had significant impact on their discipline. He'll be spending time in Germany collaborating on research into compounds with magnetic states that can be adjusted to create new states when fragile states are suppressed. 

  • 12/29/2014

    U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory and Critical Materials Institute materials chemist Anja Mudring is harnessing the promising qualities of ionic liquids, salts in a liquid state, to optimize processes for critical materials.

  • 12/23/2014

    Scientific performance at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory continues to achieve a high rating according to the just-released 2014 DOE Laboratory Performance Report Card. Ames Laboratory received an A- for Mission Accomplishment (Quality and Productivity of R&D). This grade reflects an ongoing commitment to quality science. 

  • 12/16/2014

    Ames Laboratory scientist Cai-Zhuang Wang, a senior scientist at the Ames Laboratory, was named a 2014 Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS).  

    According to APS, Wang was elected for “significant advances in developing computation methods including tight-binding molecular dynamics for atomistic simulations, genetic algorithm for crystal and interface structure prediction, and Gutzwiller density functional theory for strongly correlated electron systems.”