You are here

Latest News Releases

  • 01/27/2015

    Paul Canfield, Ames Laboratory senior physicist and Iowa State University Distinguished Professor and the Robert Allen Wright Professor of Physics and Astronomy, has been selected to receive a Humboldt Research Award in recognition of his achievements to date – fundamental discoveries, new theories, insights that have had significant impact on their discipline. He'll be spending time in Germany collaborating on research into compounds with magnetic states that can be adjusted to create new states when fragile states are suppressed. 

  • 12/29/2014

    U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory and Critical Materials Institute materials chemist Anja Mudring is harnessing the promising qualities of ionic liquids, salts in a liquid state, to optimize processes for critical materials.

  • 12/23/2014

    Scientific performance at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory continues to achieve a high rating according to the just-released 2014 DOE Laboratory Performance Report Card. Ames Laboratory received an A- for Mission Accomplishment (Quality and Productivity of R&D). This grade reflects an ongoing commitment to quality science. 

  • 12/16/2014

    Ames Laboratory scientist Cai-Zhuang Wang, a senior scientist at the Ames Laboratory, was named a 2014 Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS).  

    According to APS, Wang was elected for “significant advances in developing computation methods including tight-binding molecular dynamics for atomistic simulations, genetic algorithm for crystal and interface structure prediction, and Gutzwiller density functional theory for strongly correlated electron systems.”

  • 10/21/2014

    Javier Vela, scientist with the U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory and an assistant professor in chemistry at Iowa State University, has been selected as a 2014 recipient of the Stanley C. Israel Regional Award for Advancing Diversity in Chemical Sciences. The award is given by the American Chemical Society (ACS) and is sponsored by the ACS Committee on Minority Affairs.  The award honors nominees who have created and fostered ongoing programs or activities that result in increased numbers of persons from diverse and underrepresented minority groups, persons with disabilities, or