Frédéric Perras Awarded the 2023 Caldarelli Prize

Photo of Frédéric PerrasFrédéric Perras, Ames National Laboratory scientist, was awarded the 2023 Caldarelli Prize in Magnetic Resonance for Young Investigators, given at the Alpine Conference on Magnetic Resonance. The prize recognizes recent ground-breaking contributions of young scientists in the field of magnetic resonance in solids.

Perras joined Ames National Lab in 2015 after he was named the Laboratory’s first Spedding Fellow, a position created to recognize exceptional research achievements. He was hired as an Ames National Laboratory Scientist II in 2019 and was promoted to Scientist III in 2022. Since 2021, he is the group leader for the Ames National Laboratory CBS Solid-State NMR research group. As of 2023, he also holds an Adjunct Associate Professor position at Iowa State University.

Perras is the second scientist from Ames Lab to have received the award, after Aaron Rossini in 2019.

Official Award Announcement: