Championship match from 2020 High School Science Bowl

Ames wins 2020 High School Science Bowl

Current COVID-19 Community Level: MEDIUM (Updated Aug. 11) CDC COVID-19 County Check

First Place - Ames

Photo of Ames High School
Front row (l-r): Alexander Kovar (12), Ne Dassanayake (10), Andres Cordoba (12); Back row (l-r) Coach Aileen Sullivan, Risabh Swamy (10), Jacob Stevens (10) and Ames Laboratory Director Adam Schwartz.


Second Place - Pleasant Valley

Photo of Pleasant Valley team
Front row (l-r): Aditya Desai, Amulya Pillutia, Darsh Balani; Back Row (l-r): Coach Derek Bartley, Aadil Manazir, Mitchell Strobbe, Ames Laboratory Director Adam Schwartz.


Third Place - Valley

Photo of Valley team
Front row (l-r): Kathryn Wittrock, Jim Su, Jay Chevuru; Back row (l-r): Coach Kathy McGrane, Clara Mintzer, Dorothy Junginger, Ames Laboratory Director Adam Schwartz.


AMES, IA -- Ames High School defeated Pleasant Valley High School of Bettendorf 46-40 in the championship match to win the 2020 Ames Laboratory/Iowa State University Regional Science Bowl here on Jan. 25. It was the closest match of the day for the Ames team which cruised through earlier round matches by racking up triple-digit scores.

The Ames team of Andres Cordoba, Alexander Kovar, Ne Dassanayake, Jacob Stevens and Rishabh Swamy will represent the Iowa Region at the U.S. Department of Energy National Science Bowl (NSB)® April 30-May 4, 2020 in Washington, DC.

Pleasant Valley, last year’s defending champion was second and Valley High School of West Des Moines was third. The same three teams were at the top last year with Pleasant Valley first, Valley second and Ames third.

A total of 33 schools participated in the day-long event.

Final results bracket from Championship Round