Science Bowl Competition Draws Top Students to Ames


Steve Karsjen, Public Affairs, (515) 294-5643


Ames Laboratory/Iowa State University High School Science Bowl Marks its 20th Year

AMES, Iowa –For the 20th consecutive year, the brightest high school students from across Iowa will travel to Ames on Jan. 30 to compete in the Ames Laboratory/Iowa State University Regional High School Science Bowl. Forty teams of students will compete to answer questions about astronomy, biology, physics, chemistry, earth science, general science and math in the day-long, quiz-bowl format competition.

More than 150 different Iowa high schools have participated in Science Bowl since its inception in 1991 with more than 3,600 students participating. Eight schools – Aurelia, Columbus, Indianola, Lawton-Bronson, Monticello, Prince of Peace (Clinton), Schaller-Crestland, and South Winneshiek – are competing this year for the first time.

The event, which begins at 8:00 a.m. in Black, Howe and Hoover Halls on the ISU campus, is one of 69 regional Science Bowl competitions being held throughout the nation. Throughout its history, more than 100,000 high school students have participated in regional tournaments leading up to the National finals. Regional champions will advance to DOE’s National Science Bowl®, April 29 - May 4, 2010 in Washington, D.C.

The competing students will answer questions from a variety of subject areas during half-hour matches. The 16 teams that fare best in the morning rounds will advance to the double-elimination competition in the afternoon. Approximately 80 faculty, staff and students from Ames Laboratory and ISU serve as moderators, judges, timekeepers and scorekeepers during the event.

“The fact that after 20 years of competition, we drew eight new schools shows how popular this event has become,” said Steve Karsjen, Science Bowl coordinator and Ames Lab Public Affairs manager. “And many of our scientists, staff, and students eagerly volunteer to support this important science outreach opportunity and look forward to working with the brightest students in Iowa.”

Teams participating in this year's Science Bowl are:

Boyer Valley
Central Academy (Des Moines)
Clear Creek Amana
Davenport North
Dowling (West Des Moines)
East Union (Afton)
Fort Dodge
Hempstead (Dubuque)
Home Schools of Eastern IA

Mason City
Prince of Peace College Preparatory (Clinton)
Regina (Iowa City)
South Winneshiek (Calmar)
Southeast Warren (Liberty Center)
St. Albert (Council Bluffs)
Valley (West Des Moines)
Wahlert (Dubuque)
Xavier (Cedar Rapids)

Schedule of events for the Ames Lab/ISU Science Bowl:
8:00 a.m. – Registration (Hoover Hall Atrium)
8:15 a.m. – Welcoming remarks (Hoover Auditorium)
8:30 a.m.-11:00  – Round-robin competition (various rooms)
11:00 a.m. -1:00 p.m. – Lunch break
1:00-4:30 p.m. – Double-elimination competition of the top 16 teams (various rooms)
4:30-5:30 p.m. – Championship match and awards ceremony (Hoover Auditorium)

Ames Laboratory is a  U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science research facility operated by Iowa State University.  Ames Laboratory creates innovative materials, technologies and energy solutions. We use our expertise, unique capabilities and interdisciplinary collaborations to solve global challenges.


Note to Editors: Digital images of the teams, taken during the competition, will be available as well as images of the champion and second- and third-place teams. If you are interested in the photos, please contact Kerry Gibson, Ames Laboratory Public Affairs, at (515) 294-1405 ( no later than noon on Friday, Jan. 29th.  If you are interested in attending the competition, please stop by the registration desk in the ground floor atrium of Hoover Hall (or call Kerry at 515-450-8651) and we’ll assist you in finding competition rooms for specific teams.


Return to 2010 Press Releases