You are here

Ames Laboratory scientists join consortium to research lightweight materials

Scientists at the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Ames Laboratory will play a key role in the Lightweight Materials National Lab Consortium, or LightMAT.  The recently announced consortium consists of nine DOE national laboratories and will focus on developing and deploying lightweight materials for industry more quickly and at a fraction of current costs to strengthen U.S. manufacturing competitiveness.

Keeping Light in Tune

Much like being slightly off the frequency of a radio station destroys radio reception, the quality of light-emitting technologies has, until now, been severely limited by random fluctuations in the frequency of the emitted photons.  Scientists demonstrated how this photon detuning can be suppressed using a series of short, controlled pulses applied to the emitter.  The elegant solution is robust and applicable for many quantum systems, removing a major roadblock on the way to implementing large-scale quantum networks.


Subscribe to The Ames Laboratory RSS