You are here

2013 Participating Middle School Teams

Listed below are the teams that will be competing in the 2013 Ames Laboratory/Iowa State University Regional Science Bowl:

  • North Fayette (West Union)
  • Central Lee (Donnellson)
  • Boone
  • Southeast Webster Grant (Burnside)
  • Stilwell (W. Des Moines)
  • St. Albert (Council Bluffs)
  • South Hamilton (Jewell)
  • Central Academy (Des Moines)
  • Shenandoah
  • Lynnville-Sully
  • Home Schools of E. Iowa (Walker)
  • Ames
  • Willliamsburg
  • Mediapolis
  • Pella Christian
  • Maple Valley Anthon Oto

Iowa Powder Atomization Technologies wins John Pappajohn Iowa Business Plan Competition

Iowa Powder Atomization Technologies, a start-up company based on technology developed at the Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory, has won the 2012 John Pappajohn Iowa Business Plan Competition. The competition honors top business plans of companies in business for four years or less, with an aim of stimulating business development. The prize includes $25,000 in seed money.

Spring 2013 - Synthesis of Nanstructured Materials

The physical properties and performance of materials depends on their structure as much as their composition. For example, a relatively minor change in interface chemistry improves the power efficiency of a prototype PbS quantum dot-based solar cell by an order of magnitude.

Despite this premise and the remarkable advances in materials processing and chemistry, we still cannot design and manufacture materials with a monodisperse and controllable micro- and nano-structure in a way that is scalable, versatile, inexpensive and practical.


Subscribe to The Ames Laboratory RSS