You are here

Thiel and Gschneidner Named AAAS Fellows

Ames Laboratory and Iowa State University scientists Pat Thiel and Karl Gschneidner have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The two, along with seven other ISU colleagues, were among 503 AAAS members who will be named fellows at the association's annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on Feb. 19. The award recognizes "scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications."

Thiel, an Ames Laboratory faculty scientist and an Iowa State Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, was cited "For increasing the level of understanding of surface properties of metallic quasicrystals, and for work on pathways by which metallic nanoclusters and thin films form and rearrange on metal surfaces."

"It's a special honor to be recognized by AAAS, because it holds such broad scientific prestige," Thiel said, "encompassing not only physical sciences, but also social sciences, life sciences, and engineering."



Gschneidner, a senior metallurgist for the Ames Laboratory, and Anson Marston Distinguished Professor of Materials Science and Engineering was elected based on "distinguished contributions to fundamental studies of the rare-earth elements, and their applications."

"It came as a bit of a surprise," Gschneidner said, "but it's nice to be recognized by your peers and AAAS is the largest scientific society."

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is the world's largest general scientific society and the publisher of the journal Science. The association was founded in 1848, includes 262 affiliated societies or academies and serves 10 million people.