You are here

Ames Laboratory's Jenks Named AAAS Fellow

Contacts:                                                                                                  For Release: Dec. 16, 2011

Cynthia Jenks, Ames Laboratory, 515-294-8486

Vikram Dalal, Microelectronics Research Center; Electrical and Computer Engineering; Ames Laboratory, 515-294-1077

Peter Nara, Center for Advanced Host Defense, Immunobiotics, and Translational Comparative Medicine; Biomedical Sciences; 515-294-2547

Balaji Narasimhan, College of Engineering; Chemical and Biological Engineering; Ames Laboratory, 515-294-8019

Steven Rodermel, Genetics, Development and Cell Biology, 515-294-8890,

Mike Krapfl, News Service, 515-294-4917,


ImageAmes Laboratory's Cynthia Jenks, assistant director for scientific planning and division director of chemical and biological sciences, has been elected as a 2011 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Jenks and four Iowa State University colleagues were elected AAAS Fellows for their "scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications."

Jenks was cited for "major discoveries about surfaces of aluminum-rich quasicrystals, for sustained scientific outreach, and for leadership in scientific planning within the Ames Laboratory of the U.S. Department of Energy."

"I am especially honored to be recognized by AAAS, because of its broad scientific membership and mission to advance science throughout the world," she said.

The ISU researchers and their award citations are:

Vikram Dalal, director of Iowa State's Microelectronics Research Center, Thomas M. Whitney Professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering, and associate of the Ames Laboratory, "For distinguished contributions to research in solar energy conversion materials and devices and for invention of industrially important photovoltaic devices."

Peter Nara, director of the Center for Advanced Host Defense, Immunobiotics, and Translational Comparative Medicine; W. Eugene Lloyd Chair in Toxicology; professor of biomedical sciences and immunobiology; and chief executive officer, president, chairman and co-founder of Biological Mimetics Inc., "For distinguished contributions to the field of infectious diseases, host-pathogen interaction, immunology and new vaccine technology development."

Balaji Narasimhan, associate dean for research in the College of Engineering, Vlasta Klima Balloun Professor of Engineering and associate of the Ames Laboratory, "For distinguished contributions that bridge materials science, immunology, and bioengineering, particularly for the science of degradable biomaterials for vaccine development and drug delivery."

Steven Rodermel, professor of genetics, development and cell biology, "For distinguished contributions to the field of photosynthesis, particularly for understanding nuclear-chloroplast genetic coordination, and for university and (National Science Foundation) administrative service."

These five are part of this year's class of 539 new AAAS Fellows. They'll be presented certificates and gold and blue (representing science and engineering) rosette pins on Feb. 18 at the annual meeting of the AAAS in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

The AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science. The association was founded in 1848, includes 262 science societies and academies and serves more than 10 million people.