You are here


For release: Jan. 26, 2008

Steve Karsjen, Public Affairs, 515-294-5643
Kerry Gibson, Public Affairs, 515-294-1405


Defeats Des Moines Central Academy to win 18th annual Ames Lab/ISU event

AMES, Iowa—In only its second year of competition, a team of home schooled students from Cedar Rapids-Marion won the 18th annual Regional Science Bowl, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory and Iowa State University, here Saturday. The Cedar Rapids-Marion team defeated Central Academy of Des Moines 48-42 in the championship match.

The Cedar Rapids-Marion team, comprised of seniors Leif Gaebler and Edward Talmage, juniors Evan Gaebler and Andrew Baskerville and freshman Alan Talmage had a perfect record for the day. They won all five round-robin matches in the morning and defeated West Des Moines Valley (team 2), Ames, Home Schools of Eastern Iowa, and Central Academy on their way to the championship match. Cedar Rapids-Marion was coached by Sally Gaebler and will now advance to the National Science Bowl® May 1-6 in Washington D.C. and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy.

Central Academy's team of Aaron Eckhouse, David Zhang, Hemali Batra, Alex Crichton and Kyle Moss defeated Cedar Rapids Washington, Bettendorf, and Cedar Falls before losing to Cedar Rapids-Marion Home Schools. Central Academy then defeated West Des Moines Valley (Team 1) 86-40 in the consolation half of the bracket to earn a rematch with Cedar Rapids-Marion.

West Des Moines Valley, comprised of Eric Owens, Peige Zhou, Alexander Anderson, Nathan Fowler and Jason Wu, finished in third place. Fourth place went to Cedar Falls High School. To see full results of the competition, go to the Results Bracket (pdf file).

The daylong quiz-bowl competition pits teams of four students against each other answering science and math questions in 16-minute timed matches. Teams get four points for correctly answering a toss-up question and can add another 10 to their point total by correcting answering a follow-up bonus question.

A total of 47 teams from 43 schools competed in the event, held in the College of Engineering on the ISU campus. In addition to those mentioned above, schools competing included: Ankeny, Boone, Boyer Valley, Burlington, Chariton, Clay Central—Everly, Clear Creek Amana, Corwith-Wesley-LuVerne, Davenport West, Dowling (West Des Moines), Fort Dodge, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn, Hempstead (Dubuque), Humboldt, Iowa City West, Jefferson (Cedar Rapids), Kennedy (Cedar Rapids), LeMars, Lincoln (Des Moines), Madrid, Mediapolis, Northwood-Kensett, Notre Dame (Burlington), Ottumwa, Pella, St. Albert (Council Bluffs), Saydel (Des Moines), South Hamilton (Jewell), Tri-Center (Neola), Urbandale, Wahlert (Dubuque), Waverly-Shell Rock, Woodbury Central (Moville), and Xavier (Cedar Rapids).

Ames Laboratory is operated for the Department of Energy by Iowa State University. The Lab conducts research into various areas of national concern, including the synthesis and study of new materials, energy resources, high-speed computer design, and environmental cleanup and restoration.