Volunteers honored for Science Bowl service

For the past 24 years, Ames Laboratory has held the Regional High School Science Bowl and it would be an impossible task without the hard work of a dedicated group of volunteers who serve as moderators, judges, timers, scorekeepers and room runners. It takes approximately 100 volunteers to stage the day long event.

"We love our Science Bowl volunteers," says Breehan Gerleman Lucchesi,volunteer coordinator for Science Bowl. "Science Bowl is only possible because of our many loyal volunteers who generously share their time and expertise with the program each year. And we're so thankful for their support."

To recognize that service, volunteers were presented with five-, 10-, 15- and 20-year service pins during the opening ceremonies at this year's event which was held January 25. Pins were presented by Ames Lab's Chief Research Officer Duane Johnson.

5 Years

Front (l-r) Stacy Althaus, Chelsea Clinton*, Baily Mader*, Leyi Yan, Emily Smith. Back (l-r) Heidi Bosenbert*, Ila Haugen, Sara Harris, George Vardaxis*, and CRO Duane Johnson. (Not pictured: Iryna Auferonak, Elizabeth Rohret)   * - former Science Bowl competitor

10 Years

Donald Lewis, Deb Samuelson, Johnson, Stan Welp, and Leigh Ann Long.

15 Years

Front (l-r) Allison Anderson, Mark Maffett, Cynthia Jenks; Back (l-r) Kay Lampe Hannasch, Johnson, Jim Brazelton. (Not pictured: Cynthia Feller, Steve Karsjen and Jim Anderegg)

Image  Image
20 Years
Iver Anderson was the lone 20-year recipient.

A growing number of the volunteers were participants in Science Bowl as high schools students and have volunteered during their undergraduate and graduate years at Iowa State University. Students from a dozen different ISU student organizations helped stage this year's Science Bowl. Those organization are:

  • Iota Sigma Pi
  • National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers
  • American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers
  • Pi Tau Sigma
  • Physics and Astronomy Club
  • Iowa State Space Society
  • Eta Kappa Nu
  • ISU-American Nuclear Society
  • Women in Science and Engineering
  • Material Advantage
  • ISU-American Meteorological Society
  • Alpha Sigma Kappa