You are here

Latest News Releases

  • 01/16/2012

    Some of the brightest high school students from across Iowa will travel to Ames on Jan. 28 to compete in the Ames Laboratory/Iowa State University Regional High School Science Bowl. Forty teams of students will compete to answer questions about astronomy, biology, physics, chemistry, earth science, general science and math in the day-long, quiz-bowl format competition.

  • 01/04/2012

    The state of scientific research at the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory reached a new performance milestone in 2011.   According to the just released 2011 DOE Laboratory Performance Report Card, Ames Lab received an A- for Mission Accomplishment (Science and Technology).  This grade reflects an improvement from the B+ earned in 2010.

  • 01/03/2012

    Fifteen years ago, an environmentally-friendly solder developed by the U.S Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory made history as the first cost-effective lead-free solder. Now this tin-silver-copper alloy invented by a research team headed by Ames Lab senior metallurgist Iver Anderson, has made history for a second time, becoming  the top royalty income-generating technology in the history of both Ames Lab and Iowa State University.

  • 12/16/2011

    Ames Laboratory's Cynthia Jenks, assistant director for scientific planning and division director of chemical and biological sciences, has been elected as a 2011 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Jenks and four Iowa State University colleagues were elected AAAS Fellows for their "scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications."

  • 11/30/2011

    Paul Canfield, a physicist at the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory, has won a 2011 Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award in recognition of his outstanding work in synthesizing and characterizing materials in single crystal form.