Iowa’s top science students to compete in 22nd annual regional science bowl

Contacts:                                                                                             For release: Jan. 16, 2010
Steve Karsjen, Public Affairs, (515) 294-5643

Some of the brightest high school students from across Iowa will travel to Ames on Jan. 28 to compete in the Ames Laboratory/Iowa State University Regional High School Science Bowl. Forty teams of students will compete to answer questions about astronomy, biology, physics, chemistry, earth science, general science and math in the day-long, quiz-bowl format competition.

 More than 160 different Iowa high schools have participated in Science Bowl since its inception in 1991 with more than 4,000 students participating over the years. Three schools – Dewitt, Jesup, and Mason City Newman  – are competing this year for the first time.

The event, which begins at 8:00 a.m. in Black, Howe and Hoover Halls on the ISU campus, is one of 69 regional Science Bowl competitions being held throughout the nation. Throughout its history, more than 100,000 high school students have participated in regional tournaments. Regional champions will advance to the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Science Bowl®, April 26-30, 2012, in Washington, D.C.

The competing students will answer questions from a variety of subject areas during half-hour matches. The 16 teams that fare best in the morning rounds will advance to the double-elimination competition in the afternoon. Approximately 80 faculty, staff and students from Ames Laboratory and ISU serve as moderators, judges, timekeepers and scorekeepers for the event.

“Science Bowl continues to be the premier science competition in the country,” said Steve Karsjen, Science Bowl coordinator and Ames Lab Public Affairs manager, “providing students the opportunity to showcase their science and math skills. It’s also important to many of our scientists, staff and students who eagerly volunteer to put on this important educational event because they look forward to working with the brightest students in Iowa.”

Teams participating in this year's Science Bowl are:

Central Academy (Des Moines)
Clear Creek-Amana
Davenport North
Davenport West
Dowling (Des Moines)

East Union
Home Schools of Eastern Iowa
Kennedy (Cedar Rapids)
Newman Catholic (Mason City)
Regina (Iowa City)


St. Albert (Council Bluffs)
Valley (West Des Moines)
Wahlert (Dubuque)
Washington (Cedar Rapids)
West Central Valley
Western Dubuque
Xavier (Cedar Rapids)


Schedule of events for the Ames Lab/ISU Science Bowl:

7:30 a.m. – Registration (Hoover Hall Atrium)

8:00 a.m. – Welcoming remarks (Hoover Auditorium)

8:30 a.m.-11:00 – Round-robin competition (various rooms)

11:00 a.m. -1:00 p.m. – Lunch break

1:00-4:30 p.m. – Double-elimination competition of the top 16 teams (various rooms)

4:30-5:30 p.m. – Championship match and awards ceremony (Hoover Auditorium)


Ames Laboratory is a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science research facility operated by Iowa State University. Ames Laboratory creates innovative materials, technologies and energy solutions. We use our expertise, unique capabilities and interdisciplinary collaborations to solve global challenges.