You are here

Latest News Releases

  • 01/03/2012

    Fifteen years ago, an environmentally-friendly solder developed by the U.S Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory made history as the first cost-effective lead-free solder. Now this tin-silver-copper alloy invented by a research team headed by Ames Lab senior metallurgist Iver Anderson, has made history for a second time, becoming  the top royalty income-generating technology in the history of both Ames Lab and Iowa State University.

  • 12/16/2011

    Ames Laboratory's Cynthia Jenks, assistant director for scientific planning and division director of chemical and biological sciences, has been elected as a 2011 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Jenks and four Iowa State University colleagues were elected AAAS Fellows for their "scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications."

  • 11/30/2011

    Paul Canfield, a physicist at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory, has won a 2011 Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award in recognition of his outstanding work in synthesizing and characterizing materials in single crystal form.

  • 11/07/2011

    The U.S. Department of Energy will fund two additional cutting-edge research projects at the Ames Laboratory through its Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy's (ARPA-E) Rare Earth Alternatives in Critical Technologies (REACT) program. The project are aimed at replacing rare-earths in magnets used for wind turbines and electric vehicles.

  • 10/05/2011

    The Nobel Foundation has named Dan Shechtman of the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory, Iowa State University and Israel's Technion winner of the 2011 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.