Latest News Releases

  • 06/21/2013

    Materials scientists at the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Ames Laboratory  have found an accurate way to explain the magnetic properties of a compound that has mystified the scientific community for decades.

  • 06/10/2013

    Scientists at the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Ames Laboratory have discovered a new family of rare-earth quasicrystals using an algorithm they developed to help pinpoint them.  Their research resulted in finding the only known magnetic rare earth icosahedral binary quasicrystals, now providing a “matched set” of magnetic quasicrystals and their closely related periodic cousins.

  • 06/05/2013

    Physicists at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory have discovered surprising changes in electrical resistivity in iron-based superconductors. The findings, reported in Nature Communications, offer further evidence that magnetism and superconductivity are closely related in this class of novel superconductors.

  • 05/21/2013

    Dr. Ernest Moniz was sworn in as the nation’s 13th Secretary of Energy by Deputy Energy Secretary Daniel Poneman in a ceremony May 21 for the Department’s employees, kicking off a busy first day that includes briefings on energy and national security as well as remarks to the 2013 Energy Efficiency Global Forum. Moniz was confirmed by the full Senate in a vote of 97-0 on May 16.

  • 04/26/2013

    Iowa State University senior vice president and provost Jonathan Wickert announced the appointment of Thomas Lograsso as interim director of the Ames Laboratory. Lograsso will replace Alex King, who is stepping down to the lead the Laboratory’s Critical Materials Institute, a $120 million DOE Energy Innovation Hub announced in January. Lograsso will assume the directorship as soon as funding for the Critical Materials Institute is received.

  • 04/03/2013

    Researchers at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory, Iowa State University, and the University of Crete in Greece have found a new way to switch magnetism that is at least 1000 times faster than currently used in magnetic memory technologies. Magnetic switching is used to encode information in hard drives, magnetic random access memory and other computing devices. The discovery, reported in the April 4 issue of Nature, potentially opens the door to terahertz (1012 hertz) and faster memory speeds.

  • 03/25/2013

    Materials scientists at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory are researching ways to perfect a next generation power cable made of an aluminum and calcium composite. Cables of this composite will be lighter and stronger, and its conductivity at least 10 percent better than existing materials for DC power, a growing segment of global power transmission. Its conductivity is about the same as that of existing conductors for AC power.

  • 01/28/2013

    Pleasant Valley High School of Bettendorf defeated Dubuque Wahlert High School (Dubuque, IA) 74-44 to capture the 2013 Ames Laboratory/Iowa State University Regional High School Science Bowl on Jan. 26. Pleasant Valley, which lost only one match all day in the morning qualifying round, advances to the Department of Energy’s National Science Bowl, April 25-29 in Washington, D.C.

  • 01/17/2013

    Some of the brightest high school students from across Iowa will travel to Ames on Jan. 26 to compete in the 23rd annual Ames Laboratory/Iowa State University Regional High School Science Bowl. Forty teams of students will compete to answer questions about biology, chemistry, earth and space science, energy, mathematics, and physics in the day-long, quiz-bowl format competition.

  • 01/09/2013

    The U.S. Department of Energy announced today that a team led by The Ames Laboratory in Ames, Iowa, has been selected for an award of up to $120 million over five years to establish an Energy Innovation Hub that will develop solutions to the domestic shortages of rare earth metals and other materials critical for U.S. energy security.  The new research center --  the Critical Materials Institute (CMI) -- will bring together leading researchers from academia, four Department of Energy national laboratories, as well as the private sector.