You are here

Anderson named 2015 TMS Fellow

Contacts:                                                                                            For release: March 26, 2015
Iver Anderson, Materials Science and Engineering, 515-294-9791
Kerry Gibson, Public Affairs, 515-294-1405

Iver Anderson, Ames Laboratory senior metallurgist, has been named a 2015 Fellow of The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS). Anderson is one of six new Society members who have earned the highest award bestowed by TMS, which recognizes members for their outstanding contributions to the practice of metallurgy, materials science, and technology. The 2015 Fellows were recognized at the 144th TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition held March 15–19, 2015.
Anderson was specifically recognized for his inventiveness that led to lead-free solder used in all electronic devices; for seminal contributions to: (1) gas atomization of metallic and polymeric materials, (2) powder metallurgy technology, and (3) rapid solidification processing of a wide variety of materials; for long-time professional leadership as a member of the TMS Board of Directors and chair of numerous TMS technical committees; and for contributions to education, especially for graduate student advising. 

TMS President Hani Heneim, left, presents Iver Anderson with his TMS Fellow certificate during the society's annual meeting.

“The high honor of receiving the TMS Fellow Award is especially gratifying to me, since I have had my eyes on this prize for so many years,” Anderson said.  “I am overwhelmed to think of my career accomplishments at the same level as all of my “Heroes of Metallurgy” that I have looked up to for so long in the TMS Fellow ranks.  The best part is the realization that my peers in TMS were the ones who supported my nomination and that they think I deserve this.” 

The TMS Fellow award includes a lifetime membership to the Society. To qualify for the honor, inductees must be a full member of TMS for at least five continuous years, and have a good personal reputation and distinction as an eminent authority in some aspect of the practice of metallurgy, materials science, and technology. This includes scholarship such as the publication of articles or books; the granting of patents; direction of important research or engineering work; and responsibility through management for nationally known improvements and developments in the field. 

This is just the latest TMS award for Anderson. Previously, he was named Distinguished Scientist/Engineer from the Electronic, Magnetic and Photonic Materials Division of TMS (2008) and winner of TMS Distinguished Service Award (1996). He also received an Energy 100 Award (2001) and an R&D 100 Award (1994), the Iowa State University Intellectual Property Award (2010), the Federal Laboratory Consortium Award for Excellence in Technology Transfer (2010), was named Iowa Inventor of the Year (2006), a Fellow of Alpha Sigma Mu (2014), a Fellow of the American Powder Metallurgy Institute International (2006) and Fellow of American Society for Metals International (1991).

The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) is a member-driven international professional society dedicated to fostering the exchange of learning and ideas across the entire range of materials science and engineering, from minerals processing and primary metals production, to basic research and the advanced applications of materials. Included among its 12,000 professional and student members are metallurgical and materials engineers, scientists, researchers, educators, and administrators from more than 70 countries on six continents. 

Ames Laboratory is a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science national laboratory operated by Iowa State University. Ames Laboratory creates innovative materials, technologies and energy solutions. We use our expertise, unique capabilities and interdisciplinary collaborations to solve global problems.

Ames Laboratory is supported by the Office of Science of the U.S. Department of Energy. The Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States, and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, please visit