You are here

Ames Repeats as Regional Middle School Science Bowl Champion

Ames Middle School repeated as champion here at Saturday’s Ames Laboratory Regional Middle School Science Bowl, but had a real challenge from LeMars.  The championship gives Ames a return trip to the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Science Bowl® April 28-May 2 in Washington D.C.

Throughout the day, the two teams competed against each other 4 times. Ames won the first meeting 102-8 in qualifying round-robin play.  In the double elimination championship round, LeMars won 42-40, sending Ames to the play-back bracket. Ames defeated Madrid 112-0 in the seminfinal match to earn a rematch with LeMars for the championship.

Ames won the first match 70 to 16, giving each team one loss and forcing a playoff for the championship. In that final match, LeMars jumped out to a 24-4 halftime lead, but Ames came back to win the title 72-32.

Madrid Middle School finished third. A total of 24 teams competed in the day-long quiz-bowl team competition with questions about Life Science, Physical Science, Earth and Space Science, Energy, Mathematics and General Science.

The Ames team is comprised of Rishabh Swamy, Hannah Huang, Nitzan Friedberg, Andres Cordoba, and David Kim and coached by Collin Reichert. LeMars Middle School was represented by Ethan Hulinsky, Jake Francksen-Small, Kyle Herbst, Tate Hogrefe and Alex Meier and coached by Ryan Zittrisch. Competing for Madrid were Zac Cue, Cory Arrants, Jason Renze, Jeremy Romitti and Nakota Newman and coached by Timothy Titus.

First Place - Ames
Front row (l-r) Rishabh Swamy, Hannah Huang, Nitzan Friedberg; Back (l-r) Coach Collin Reichert, Andres Cordoba, David Kim, Ames Laboratory Director Adam Schwartz.

Second Place - LeMars

Front row (l-r) Ethan Hulinsky, Alex Meier, Jake Francksen-Small; Back row (l-r) Coach Ryan Zittritsch, Tate Hogrefe, Kyle Herbst, Ames Laboratory Director Adam Schwartz.

Third Place - Madrid

Front (l-r) Jason Renze, Nakota Newman, Zac Cue; back row (l-r) Ames Lab Director Adam Schwartz, coach Timothy Titus, Jeremy Romitti, and Cory Arrants.