You are here

Latest News Releases

  • 05/08/2008

    AMES, Iowa— In a ceremony on Wednesday, April 30, 2008, eight Ames Laboratory scientists received "Outstanding Mentor" awards from the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science. The awards were for their work mentoring students in the Science Undergraduate Laboratory Internship, or SULI, program coordinated by the DOE's Ames Laboratory.

  • 04/28/2008

    AMES, Iowa—Patricia Thiel has been appointed division director for Science and Technology at the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory.  The appointment, which becomes effective May 1, 2008, was announced by Alex King, Ames Laboratory director.

  • 04/28/2008

    AMES, Iowa—Three scientists at the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory have been recognized for their exceptional efforts in assessing manuscripts for American Physical Society journals.  Doug Finnemore, senior physicist, Bruce Harmon, deputy Lab director and senior physicist, and a third physicist who requested to remain anonymous are in the inaugural group of Outstanding Referee award winners.

  • 04/21/2008

    AMES, Iowa— Evans Middle School of Ottumwa edged out LeMars 34-26 to win the 2008 Ames Laboratory/Iowa State University Middle School Science Bowl here on Saturday, April 19. Council Bluffs St. Albert was third and Home Schools of Eastern Iowa was fourth in the 16-team science and math quiz bowl competition.

  • 04/14/2008

    AMES, Iowa—The competition is expected to be fierce on Friday, April 18, when middle school students from across the state of Iowa gather to race hydrogen fuel-cell cars they've built for the highly popular Middle School Science Bowl, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory and Iowa State University.