You are here

Ames Laboratory scientist Alan Goldman wins Jean Marie Dubois Award for quasicrystal research

Contacts:                                                                                                                     For Release: May 24, 2019

Adam Schwartz, Ames Laboratory Director, 515-294-2770

Kerry Gibson, Ames Laboratory Communications, 515-294-1405

Alan Goldman, a U.S. Department of Energy Ames Laboratory scientist and Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy at Iowa State University, has been awarded the Jean Marie Dubois Award for Excellence in Quasicrystal Research. This award is given by the International Conference on Quasicrystals (ICQ), and will be presented to Goldman at the 14th International Conference on Quasicrystals in Kranjska Gora, Slovenia, next week.

The Jean Marie Dubois Award was established to recognize important, sustained research on any aspect of quasicrystals. Goldman was named a recipient for “elucidating the relationship between quasiperiodicity and magnetism, particularly through the groundbreaking discovery of a series of binary Cd-Rare Earth icosahedral quasicrystals, measurement of their magnetic properties, and comparison with the parent 1/1 periodic approximant,” according to the ICQ14 International Advisory Board, which selects the winner. Goldman is the first recipient from the United States.

Goldman earned his M.S. degree (1980) and Ph.D. (1984) at the State University of New York at Stony Brook. After serving as a staff scientist in the neutron scattering group at Brookhaven National Laboratory, he joined the faculty in the department of Physics and Astronomy at Iowa State University, with an appointment as a scientist at Ames Laboratory in 1988. Goldman has been actively engaged in quasicrystal research since 1986, dealing with topics including the structure, stability, dynamics and magnetic properties of icosahedral phases. Other relevant research topics include the magnetic structure of intermetallic phases, the relationship between magnetism, structure and superconductivity in high-temperature superconductors and heavy fermion systems.

“Ames Laboratory and Iowa State University’s contributions to condensed matter physics and quasicrystal research is globally recognized. Alan Goldman’s research has been vital to that accomplishment, and this award is well-deserved,” said Ames Laboratory Director Adam Schwartz.

“I’m honored to receive this award,” said Goldman. “I would like to acknowledge that this work was the result of strong collaborations with many faculty, staff and students at Ames Laboratory, including Sergey Bud'ko, Tai Kong, Andreas Kreyssig, Pinaki Das, Rob McQueeney, Rebecca Flint, Greg Tucker, Min Gyu Kim and, most especially, Paul Canfield.”

Ames Laboratory is a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science national laboratory operated by Iowa State University. Ames Laboratory creates innovative materials, technologies and energy solutions. We use our expertise, unique capabilities and interdisciplinary collaborations to solve global problems.

The U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, visit