You are here

Thiel serving on ISU Presidential search committee

The Iowa Board of Regents appointed the search committee for Iowa State's next president during a June 23 telephonic board meeting. The 18-member committee is co-chaired by College of Business dean Labh Hira and ISU alumnus Roger Underwood. The committee also includes two regents, a faculty representative from each college; presidents of the Faculty Senate, P&S Council, Government of the Student Body and Graduate and Professional Student Senate; two representatives each from the alumni association and ISU Foundation; and two non-voting members of the regents staff.

Presidential Search Committee


  • Labh Hira, Raisbeck Endowed Dean of the College of Business
  • ISU alumnus Roger Underwood, president, Riverwood Management

Board of Regents

  • Katie Mulholland
  • Bruce Rastetter

Faculty, Staff, Employee and Student Groups

  • Faculty Senate President: Steve Freeman
  • Professional and Scientific Council President: Dan Burden
  • Government of the Student Body President: Dakota Hoben
  • Graduate and Professional Student Senate President: Erica Smith


  • College of Agriculture and Life Sciences: John D. Lawrence, Associate Dean for Extension and Outreach Programs, Director of Agriculture and Natural Resources Education and Professor of Economics
  • College of Design: Lynn Paxson, Professor of Architecture
  • College of Engineering: Robert C. Brown, Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering, Gary and Donna Hoover Chair in Mechanical Engineering and Director of the Bioeconomy Institute
  • College of Human Sciences: Ann Thompson, University Professor of Curriculum and Instruction, Director of the Center for Technology in Learning and Teaching
  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences: Patricia Thiel, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Senior Scientist at U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory, and John D. Corbett Professorship in Chemistry
  • College of Veterinary Medicine: Anumantha Kanthasamy, Clarence Hartley Covault Distinguished Professor in Veterinary Medicine, W.E. Lloyd Endowed Chair in Neurotoxicology, and Director of the Iowa Center for Advanced Neurotoxicology

Alumni Association

  • Jon Fleming: Staff internist and gastroenterologist at McFarland Clinic, Ames
  • Deborah Turner: Medical director of gynecologic oncology at Mercy Hospital, Des Moines

ISU Foundation

  • Cara Heiden: Co-President of Wells Fargo Home Mortgage, Des Moines
  • Rudolf (Rudy) Herrmann: Retired President/CEO of Dover Resources, Inc., Tulsa, Okla.

Ex-Officio/Non-Voting Members

  • Executive Director of the Board of Regents: Bob Donley
  • Chief Academic Officer of the Board of Regents: Diana Gonzalez
  1. David Miles
  2. Cara Heiden
  3. Labh Hira
  4. Dan Burden
  5. Bruce Rastetter
  6. Dakota Hoben
  7. Patricia Thiel
  8. Bob Donley
  9. Jon Fleming
  10. Steve Freeman
  11. Lynn Paxson
  12. Roger Underwood
  13. Katie Mulholland
  14. John Lawrence
  15. Diana Gonzalez
  16. Erica Smith

Search members not in photo: Robert C. Brown, Rudolf Herrmann, Anumantha Kanthasamy, Ann Thompson, Deborah Turner.