You are here

Awards 2011-2

ImageProzorov receives DOE Early Career Award


Tanya Prozorov, an Ames Laboratory scientist, will take an unprecedented look at how magnetic nanocrystals grow thanks to a DOE Office of Science Early Career Research award. Prozorov was one of just 65 researchers (21 from the national laboratories) selected from about 1,150 applications to the program, which is designed to bolster the nation’s scientific workforce by supporting “exceptional researchers during the crucial early years of their scientific careers when many scientists do their most formative work.”

Prozorov’s project, “Real-Time Studies of Nucleation, Growth and Development of Ferromagnetism in Individual Protein-Templated Magnetic Nanocrystals,” will focus on isolating individual bio-templated magnetic nanocrystals in an attempt to identify mechanisms that control how these crystals form and develop their magnetic properties. The award will provide a total of $2.5 million over a five-year period. (To read more about Prozorov’s research, turn to page 14.)

“I am excited about Tanya’s project because it promises to answer some really intriguing questions about materials at the nanoscale,” says Ames Laboratory Director Alex King. “Winning the funding against steep odds reflects DOE’s sense of the importance of the work, and confidence that she can overcome its challenges to get the job done.”


Soukoulis receives honorary degree

Ames Laboratory associate scientist and Iowa State University Distinguished Professor Costas Soukoulis received an honorary doctorate from Vrije Universiteit in Brussels, Belguim. Soukoulis was one of five scientists honored for accomplishments in their respective fields. He received the award during a ceremony held May 25 in Brussels.



Withers awarded Silvius-Wolansky
Graduate Fellowship

 ImageAmes Laboratory industrial hygiene manager Jim Withers has been selected for the Silvius-Wolanksy Graduate Fellowship in the Iowa State University Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering. Withers was selected for the fellowship based on his professional involvement in industrial hygiene/safety and his excellent dissertation research. This fellowship was established to honor the work of G. Harold Silvius and William Wolansky, a long-time professor in industrial education and technology at Iowa State. Silvius and Wolansky were nationally recognized leaders committed to vocational education and training and international programs.






Karsjen appointed to National Science Bowl Planning Committee


Ames Lab Public Affairs manager and education programs director Steve Karsjen has been invited to join the National Science Bowl Planning Committee. He will be involved in planning the event’s media/public awareness activities.

Thiel serves on ISU Presidential search committee

 Ames Laboratory scientist and John Corbett Distinguished Professor of Chemistry Pat Thiel served as a member of the search committee tasked with finding the next president of Iowa State University. The 18-member committee met through much of the summer and narrowed the field to two finalists, with Steven Leath being named the 15th president of ISU on Sept. 27 by the Iowa Board of Regents.



Ames Lab plays prominent role
in superconductor workshop

Ames Laboratory played a prominent role in the 13th International Workshop on Vortex Matter in Superconductors, held in August in Chicago. Ames Lab was one of the sponsors, along with Argonne National Laboratory, the Materials Theory Institute of Argonne, the Institute for Theoretical Sciences of the University of Notre Dame, and the EFRC-Center for Emergent Superconductivity.

In addition, Ruslan Prozorov, Ames Lab senior physicist, served as a co-organizer for the workshop, and Ames Lab physicists Vladimir Kogan and John Clem were part of a special distinguished lecturers symposia and received special citations for their work. Clem also serves as a member of the workshop’s international advisory committee.

Kogan was recognized “for pioneering contributions to the vortex behavior of type II superconductors, especially the roles of anisotropy, non-locality, and multiple bands.” Clem was cited for his “seminal contributions to the phenomenological theory of vortices in superconductors including the concept of ‘pancake’ vortices in layered superconductors.”

  Image Image Image

     Clem                  Kogan                   Prozorov

Ames Lab projects
receive ARPA-E funding

The Ames Laboratory was selected for funding for two cutting-edge research projects by the Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E) program.
The first of the two projects is for research to develop a new class of high-energy permanent magnets using the rare-earth element cerium.  Cerium is four times more abundant than the rare-earth element neodymium, which is critical for today’s permanent magnets.  The research will look at combining other metals with cerium to create a new, powerful magnet  with high-temperature stability for electric vehicle motors.  Partners in the project will also include General Motors, NovaTorque and Molycorp Minerals.     
The $2.2 million research project is for three years and will be led by Ames Laboratory senior metallurgist Bill McCallum, who says General Motors and NovaTorque will evaluate the material for traction motors in vehicles while Molycorp will provide the important materials supply chain and development path for commercialization of these materials.
In the second project, Ames Laboratory scientists will team with Pacific Northwest National Laboratory on research to reduce dependence on critical materials like rare earths by developing a new alternative to rare-earth permanent magnets that use manganese. These manganese composite magnets hold the potential to double the magnetic strength of current rare-earth magnets while using raw materials that are inexpensive and abundant.


Chumbley elected
Fellow of ASM International

ImageAmes Laboratory scientist Scott Chumbley has been elected a 2011 Fellow of the American Society for Metals International. Chumbley was recognized at the ASM awards dinner during the ASM annual meeting on Oct. 18 in Columbus, Ohio.

ASM Fellowship is awarded for distinguished contributions in the field of materials science and engineering and provides a broad-based forum for technical and professional leaders to serve as advisors to the Society. Specifically, Chumbley was cited for “outstanding achievements in recruiting and mentoring of materials science and engineering students, and in the development of web-based SEM technology used by K-12 students worldwide.”

Ness honored for 50 years of service

ImagePaul Ness, senior research technician, was honored for 50 years of service to the Ames Laboratory. Ness was one of nearly 30 Ames Lab employees recognized for their years of service completed in 2010 at an awards luncheon held Sept. 22.
Ness joins John Corbett and Karl Gschneidner as the only employees to reach their golden anniversary at the Lab.  Ness received a gold watch bearing the Ames Lab logo and a certificate in recognition of his half century of service.

 Yeung selected as ACS Fellow

ImageAmes Laboratory senior chemist Ed Yeung has been selected to the 2011 class of Fellows of the American Chemical Society. Yeung and the rest of 2011 ACS Fellows were honored at a special ceremony during the ACS National Meeting in Denver on Aug. 29, 2011. The ACS Fellows Program recognizes members of ACS for “outstanding achievements in and contributions to Science, the Profession, and the Society.”