You are here

Senate confirms Moniz as Energy Secretary

The Senate on Thursday confirmed Massachusetts Institute of Technology physicist Ernest Moniz to be the next Secretary of Energy, replacing Steven Chu. The vote was 97-0, with three senators (Roy Blunt, R-Missouri; Tom Coburn, R-Oklahoma; and Jerry Moran, R-Kansas) missing the vote. Moniz has served on the faculty of MIT since 1973, with a research focus on energy technology and policy.