You are here

Johnston wins 2018 High School Science Bowl

AMES, IA -- Johnston High School topped a field of 39 teams from around the state to win the 2018 Ames Laboratory/Iowa State University Regional High School Science Bowl here on Jan. 27. Johnston will now represent the Iowa Region in the U.S. Department of Energy's National Science Bowl® in Washington, D.C. April 26-30.

The Johnston team of William Julstrom, Aditya Somisetty, Paul Zhang, and Chris Yao overcame a narrow loss in the quarter-final round to Ames High. That match was tied 34-34 and the end of regulation, but Ames scored eight points in the tie-breaker round to win. Johnston then defeated West Des Moines Valley 80-8 to earn a rematch against Ames. Johnston defeated Ames 66-22 and 52-18 in two straight matches to capture the championship in the double-elimination competition. Johnston is coached by Stephanie Buckingham and Kyla Burns.

Ames  team members were Ben Moats, Nitzan Friedberg, Andres Cordoba, Alex Kovar and Hana Lee and coached by Nick Lachen. Valley team members were Lucy Brown, Kate Snodgrass, Alex Peterson, Darrell Smith and Jay Chevuru and coached by Nathan Speichinger. Other teams making the afternoon round of 16 were: Pleasant Valley, Boone, Dubuque Hempstead, Linn-Mar, Liberty, Davenport North, Bellevue, Iowa City Regina, Dubuque Senior, Des Moines Central Campus, Chariton and Colo-Nesco. 

Championship Competition Bracket Results (pdf)

First Place: Johnston

Seated (l-r)  Coach Kyla Burns, William Julstrom, coach Stephanie Buckingham;
Back (l-r) Chris Yao, Aditya Somisetty, Paul Zhang, and Ames Laboratory Director Adam Schwartz.

Second Place: Ames

Seated (l-r) Alex Kovar, Andres Cordoba, Nitzan Friedberg;
Back (l-r) Coach Nick Lachen, Ben Moats, Ames Laboratory Director Adam Schwartz. 

Third Place: Valley

Seated (l-r) Alex Peterson, Lucy Brown, Kate Snodgrass;
Back (l-r) Coach Nathan Speichinger, Jay Chevuru, Darrell Smith, Ames Laboratory Director Adam Schwartz.