You are here

Ames wins 2018 Middle School Science Bowl

Ames Middle School repeated as the champion, winning the 2018 Ames Laboratory/Iowa State University Regional Middle School Science Bowl, held Feb. 24 on the ISU campus. Ames defeated Iowa City Regina 90-30 in the championship match to earn the right to represent the region at the U.S. Department of Energy's National Science Bowl® (NSB).  Teams from across the nation will be competing in the NSB finals April 26-30 in Washington, DC. 

For the Ames Middle School Science Bowl team, the toughest challenge of the 2018 competition was actually getting into the competition. Because the event is limited to 24 teams, on a first-come, first-served basis, Ames was placed on the standby list. Fortunately for them, Saturday's weather forecast caused several teams to cancel and Ames actually was able to get two teams into the weather-shortened final field of 20.

The Ames Team, comprised of Rishabh Swamy, Nethaka Dassanayake, Jacob Stevens, Gerald Han and Aidan Krueger (and coached by Rachel Miller), breezed through the morning round, then dispatched Regina, Indian Hills and Bettendorf to make the finals. After that initial loss, Regina battled back through consolation defeating Waukee South, Sheldon, Indian Hills and Bettendorf to earn a rematch with Ames. Ames led only 50-30 at the halftime break but Regina was shutout in the second half.

Results bracket

First Place:
Ames Middle School

Seated (l-r) Aidan Krueger, Rishabh Swamy, Nethaka Dassanayke; back (l-r) Jacob Stevens, Gerald Han, Coach Rachel Miller, Ames Laboratory Director Adam Schwartz.

Second Place:

Regina Middle School

Seated (l-r) Peter Burer, Adam Boblenz, Alex Spies; back (l-r) coach Barb Reilly, Trevor Van Swol, Aden Hageman, Ames Laboratory Director Adam Schwartz.

Third Place:

Bettendorf Middle School

Seated (l-r): Aidan Hamner, Kaelee Wolf, Cole Snyder; Back (l-r) coach Erin Allen, Noah Raso, Preston Martens, coach Brett Van Deventer, Ames Laboratory Director Adam Schwartz.